I had it in my calendar that I would officially begin training today.  It's not really a big deal... I typically run 4-5 miles, 3 days a week with my long run ranging from 6-10 miles.  It's always hard to start back up after taking some time off, so I try not to take time off, if I can.  I guess mentally, I have a schedule that I have to follow.  That's the good thing about the off season... you can run whatever you want and not worry.  So, the big deal really.. is now I have to follow the schedule.  It's always tricky since we have a trip coming up to visit Michael, Tiffany, and Colton... and also to visit Jock's parents, brother his family.  Rallying up some family away from my running peeps to get some of the long miles with me may be interesting.  I'll have to start working on that.  We do have runners in the family... but they're all faster than me.  I always hate running with people faster than me because I feel like I am holding them back.... so I run harder than I probably should and end up hurting myself.  I should make sure Jock is out there with me, because he's always making sure

Today, I was suppossed to run 4 miles.  I ran 5, only because I felt pretty good and had great company to run with.  I'm sure I'll make up that extra mile somewhere down the line... so I don't think it's that big of deal that I don't follow it EXACTLY.  I'm still a novice runner, so any of you more experienced runners, please let me know if I shouldn't do that.

It's still hot here in Houston.  Not that I think it wouldn't be... I sometimes have weird dreams that it'll be snowing when I run NYC.  I anticipate and hope that it will be cooler... anything (except snow--- just because I'll probably hurt myself) would be better!!!

Happy running!!



Leave a Reply.